While working on explosive pitching at a baseball facility, I had a high school coach tell me it was a illegal pitch when the pitcher steps straight back while his pivot foot is still in contact with the pitching rubber. He explained to me that a pitcher can’t break the back plane of the rubber, that the pitcher has to move/step sideways from the windup.
We live here in virginia and I can’t find anything online from vshl or anything else to support this claim. Has anyone else heard of this or seen this? That would be like telling a hitter that he couldn’t load up and stride while swinging.
Of course he can’t show you that rule in the rule book, right? 😉
The sad thing is he’s in charge of young men’s baseball future and people trust him.
Rule 8.01(a) of the Official Baseball Rules (applicable to MLB) states that, from the Windup Position, the pitcher ??..?may take one step backward.??..????? The National Federation of High Schools (NFHS) rule is the same as the MLB rule.
I was on that website last night since that governs high school rules also and I had to order the rules for $8.00 in order to get the ruling on what a pitcher is able to do. Thanks russell for that infomation I knew someone would know thanks.
want to know the truly funny thing about this??? It wasn’t until about 4-5 years ago that the MLB rules technically allowed a step to the side! The Rules were amended so that the current step sideways windups would be clearly within the rules..
You must be logged in to reply to this topic.